skip navigation

League History

History of the MSWHL

The Michigan Senior Women’s Hockey League began in 1988 as the "Metro Skaters Hockey League" with only five teams: Polar Bears (Inkster), Ice Pack (Melvindale), Steel Magnolias (Ann Arbor), Team Michigan (Fraser), and Terminators (Howell).  Currently, the League has grown to 40+ teams divided into divisions of advanced, intermediate, and recreational levels. Women ranging in age from 18 to 70+ years-old currently play in the league. Team home ices range geographically from the western suburbs of Ann Arbor to the eastern Detroit suburb of Grosse Pointe, and from the north in Rochester to the Downriver area of Trenton.  Over 700 women participate in one of the largest women’s hockey leagues in the country. The purpose of this league is to encourage and improve the standard of ice hockey for women in the state of Michigan, to develop and encourage sportsmanship among all players for the betterment of their physical and social well-being, and to conduct an organized league wherein women may learn and enjoy both recreational and competitive ice hockey. The MSWHL is a member of MAHA and USA Hockey. Competition typically begins in October, with each team playing approximately 20-25 games and concluding with the annual “Ruicci Cup” hockey playoff weekend in late March or early April.